Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff

Offices are located in Lucas Hall on the UMSL North campus. If calling from a non-UMSL number please dial first 314-516 (XXXX)

Administration

Name & Title Office Phone Email
Dr. Finn Aage Esbensen
Department Chair
E. Desmond Lee Professor
of Youth Crime and Violence
330 4619 esbensen@umsl.edu
Amanda Porterfield
Administrative Assistant
329 5032 porterfielda@umsl.edu
Dr. Elaine Eggleston Doherty
Graduate Director
Associate Professor
338C 5033 dohertye@umsl.edu
Dr. Tim Maher
Undergraduate Director
Teaching Professor
535 5026

mahert@umsl.edu


Full-time Faculty

Name & Title Office Phone Areas of Specialization
Dr. Adam Boessen
Assistant Professor
531 5030 Neighborhoods and crime
Space and geography
Social networks
Dr. Michael Campbell
Assistant Professor
 541 6731  Law and society
Punishment and corrections
Politics and crime 
Dr. Stephanie DiPietro
Associate Professor
540 5038 Immigration and crime
Juvenile delinquency
Criminological theory
Dr. Elaine Eggleston Doherty
Associate Professor
338C 5033  Life course theory
Desistance from crime & drug use
Longitudinal methodology
Dr. Rachel Ellis
Assistant Professor
338B 6852 Prisons
Gender and Punishment
Qualitative methods
Dr. Finn-Aage Esbensen
E. Desmond Lee Professor
of Youth Crime and Violence
330 4619 Youth violence and gangs
Evaluation research
Cross-cultural research
Dr. Heidi Grundetjern
Assistant Professor
542 5189 Gender and crime
Illegal drug markets
Qualitative methods
Dr. Beth Huebner
Professor
533 5043 Prisoner reentry
Criminal justice decision-making
Quantitative methods
Dr. David Klinger
Professor
340A 7012 Policing
Terrorism
Deadly force
Dr. Karlijn Kuijpers
Assistant Professor
5037 5037 Victimization
Intimate Partner Violence
Quantitative Methods
Dr. Janet Lauritsen
Curators' Distinguished Professor
328 5427 Victimization
Gender & violent crime trends
Quantitative methods
Dr. Timothy Maher
Teaching Professor
535 5026 Policing
Police deviance & sexual misconduct
Dr. Richard Rosenfeld
Founders Professor
527 6717 Social sources of violent crime
Crime control policy
Crime trends
Dr. Lee Ann Slocum
Associate Professor
340B 4072 Police-citizen relations
Developmental criminology
Research methods
Dr. Terrance J. Taylor
Associate Professor
529 5075 Victimization
Youth violence & gangs
Race/Ethnicity & crime
Dr. Kyle Thomas
Assistant Professor
331 4387 Peer influence
Offender decision-making
Criminological theory
Dr. Matt Vogel
Assistant Professor
539  5042  Juvenile delinquency
Person-Context research
Mental health and offending 


Emeritus Faculty & Staff

Name & Title Office Phone Areas of Specialization
Cathy McNeal
Administrative Associate Emeritus
n/a   n/a n/a 
Dr. Allen Wagner
Associate Professor Emeritus
544 n/a Policing
History of Police organizations
Dr. Richard Wright
Professor Emeritus
n/a n/a Offender decision-making
Drug markets
Cross-cultural and qualitative research


Adjunct Faculty

Name & Title Office Email
Gabe Crocker
Adjunct Instructor
324 crockerg@umsl.edu
Michael Guzy
Adjunct Instructor
324 guzym@umsl.edu
Daniel Isom
Adjunct Instructor
324 isomd@umsl.edu
Brenda Loftin
Adjunct Instructor
324 loftinb@umsl.edu
Niquita Loftis
Adjunct Instructor
324 nmve58@umsl.edu
Shannon McAllister
Adjunct Instructor
324 whitleysha@umsl.edu
Kim Rensing
Adjunct Instructor
324

rensingk@umsl.edu


In Memoriam

Name & Title
Dr. Bob Bursik
Curators' Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Dr. G. David Curry
Professor Emeritus